MuseumMinute

Share Your Museum Date Stories

Happy Valentine’s Day from the Museum Minute! Today’s post is simple; we’re asking you (yes, you) to share your museum date stories: the meh, the fabulous and the bad. We want to know them all!

I’ll get us started.

My husband and I go on museum dates on a fairly regular basis. I love museums and he tolerates them. I’m a history person and he is interested art and design.

The last exhibition we saw that we both loved was Supply and Demand: 20 Year Retrospective at the Contemporary Arts Center in Cincinnati. The show featured over 20 years of Shepard Fairey‘s work, including illustrations, screen prints, collages, works of wood, metal and canvas. We went on opening night and stood in line a block away from the museum for about 30 minutes in mid-February 2010. It was cold but the crowd was excited and the music was loud. Did I mention that Shepard Fairey was a DJ at the opening party? It was kind of a big deal. We walked through the exhibition (which was huge) holding hands and found ourselves getting lost in the artwork, having discussions about imagery and messaging and running into friends we hadn’t seen in ages. All in all – it was a stellar date night (and we still talk about).

We even have the exclusive screen print of the  Zaha Hadid-designed Contemporary Arts Center signed by Shepard Fairey hanging in our living room to remind us of that night. Swoon.

Share your museum date stories!

5 thoughts on “Share Your Museum Date Stories

  1. I’m a big fan of museum dates. My (now) husband and I have spent quite a bit of quality time getting to know each other in museums. Most of our courtship was in Boston, where we were lucky enough to live just down the street from the MFA and to be members of the Boston Science Museum, both of which are phenomenal. We went on our honeymoon to San Francisco, where we made a special point to go to the Museum of the African Diaspora, and any time we take a trip somewhere we try to go see a museum that is unique to that city. My favorite “museum date,” however, has to be to the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in the Boston Fens area in June 2008. Admittedly, I was intrigued more by the legendary 1990s art heist that took place at the Gardner Museum than I was the priceless collection of art. However, as we wove our way through the overwhelming amount of one-of-a-kind pieces from Asian and European artists, it was clear that the thieves had not been able to steal the spirit of Mrs. Gardner after all. What else was clear was that my then-boyfriend was clearly not that interested in the collection. He was distracted, distant and acting just a little “off.” After about two hours of touring, we decided to stop for a bathroom/gift shop break and take a rest in the gorgeous indoor atrium area that is at the center of the museum. I had just taken a seat on one of the concrete benches flanking the gardens when Brendan (said boyfriend) knelt before me with tears in his eyes and proceeded to present to me the most beautiful ring I had ever seen. I cannot remember exactly what he said, but I certainly can remember where we were, the look on his face, and the feeling I had when I said, “yes!” A little more than a year later, we were married at Locust Grove Historic Home/Museum in Louisville, Kentucky, and nearly three years later we have a precious little one-year old boy and another on the way. Yep, you could say I’m a big fan of museum dates!

  2. Seems like a popular topic, my blog post today was “How to go on a museum date”: http://jennifuchs.tumblr.com/post/17602459893/how-to-go-on-a-museum-date
    My husband and I visit museums all the time, not sure when it counts as a museum date, but one particularly memorable one has to be to the Meguro Parasitological Museum. Apparently it’s a hot date spot in Tokyo – because nothing says ‘I love you’ like a 30 foot tapeworm ;-)

  3. My favorite museum date was when my boyfriend and I went to see the Monet exhibit at the St. Louis Art Museum right before I moved to Oklahoma for a new job. We went the last day before I left and it was a beautiful experience. I was glad to see it because the Art Museum is such an icon of St. Louis and now it’s one of the memories I look back on to remember St. Louis and my boyfriend. Actually, I told him yesterday that it was one of my favorite memories of us.

  4. I went to do work on an exhibit at The Burpee Museum of Natural History in Rockford. I met Holli while updating some interactives, we became quick friends and she asked me out on Valentines Day. We have been married for almost six years and I always say that it was a 66 million year old courtship as it was Jane the Dinosaur that brought us together.

  5. My husband and I both enjoy architecture, and state capitol buildings are particularly fascinating for us. They are thoroughly adorned with symbolic ornamentation, special construction materials associated with the state, and wonderful images from the history of the state and its people. We love to learn the different ways that each state honors its special character. With their many wings, chambers, and features like rotundas, capitol buildings are a fantastic place to explore with someone you love.

Leave a Reply

